The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Welcome to this blog hop. What is a blog hop? It’s a virtual event that helps readers discover new authors. The first author tags  other authors whose work he or she admires. Each author can tag up to five additional authors, etc.

First off, thank you to Pat Browning, who recommended me for The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. Pat is the author of
ABSINTHE OF MALICE, Krill 2008
You can find her blogs at:
http://pat-browning.blogspot.com/
http://browningpat.wordpress.com

ABSINTHE OF MALICE
Old crimes come back to haunt a small California town in this intriguing urban cozy. ABSINTHE OF MALICE introduces Penny Mackenzie, Lifestyle reporter for The Pearl Outrider, and a cast of unforgettable characters who find their lives turned upside down when old secrets and new secrets all come to light after chance discovery of a skeleton in a cotton field leads to murder…and romance.

**
In this particular hop, an author I’ve chosen and I will each answer, on our respective blogs, the same 10 questions ranging from our current books and/or works in progress to our writing processes and beyond. I hope you’ll enjoy learning about our work. Please feel free to share comments and questions.
Now, here is my Next Big Thing!

1: What is the working title of your book?
_Famous…or Not_
This will be published under the pen name, LeAnn Coston.

2: Where did the idea come from for the WIP?
So, imagine this:
You’re sitting in your backyard, in middle-America, and you hear a noise. You look up. The Sexiest Man in the Universe hops over your privacy fence and runs across your yard. After a few seconds, about seven or eight paparazzi hop the fence and follow him. Now, that’s something you just don’t see everyday in Oklahoma.

As the commotion continues and dogs start barking, you can hear the chase going all through your neighbor’s yards. Finally, it quiets down again, and you look back at the magazine you were reading–the celebrity magazine showing the cover picture of the Sexiest Man in the Universe.

After a bit, you hear a noise, and Mr. Sexiest Man hops the fence-again! You realize he’s probably only eluding paparazzi, but part of you hopes he came around  to see you just one more time. You nod at the open door to the lawn mower shed. He ducks inside. The paparazzi hop the fence again, but you tell them their prey has eluded them. With disgust, they walk down your driveway and leave.

So, with wry amusement, you walk across your own backyard to your lawnmower shed, where the Sexiest Man in the Universe happens to be hiding.

Even if this was the movies, meet-cutes don’t get any better than this.

3: What genre does your book come under?
Romance. Chic lit

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
The male protag is George Clooney. Usually, when I write a book/play/movie script, I create the characters in my head. It’s rare that I base a character on a real person. But, the male protag in this book is a Movie Star, and I based the character on George Clooney. But, there are so many actors I’d be happy to cast (and work with): Tahmoh Penikett, Bradley Cooper.

I wrote this book as a book. But I can SEE it as a movie. And since I just happen to be an (she whispers) independent movie director, maybe I can get the financing together and actually film this story. [Moral of the story: dream big. You might just pull off the impossible.]

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
What happens if the most famous movie star in the world meets a non-famous, dedicated-to-her-career, average woman from middle America?

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?
I self publish. I am a book publisher. It took a long road to get here. I played the game (try to get an agent, get signed by publishing house, books don’t sell, etc). I’ve had three publishers and that was a disaster. The first one died. The second stole money from the authors–she actually admitted it in public, and the third didn’t handle business matters well at all.

So, I went out on my own, and it took a good bit of figuring out, but….books are selling. Who knew? LOL

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Famous…or Not.
First draft started October 24, 2009, and finished December 24, 2009. 2 months exactly. This was a fast one. I do a lot of thinking, prior to starting a book. So, it takes a long time to get things worked out in my head. Once it’s worked out, and I have the *energy* to pull this off, the typing part doesn’t take long. Still, 2 months is very fast, at least in my world.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Hard to compare. I take each author’s work on its own merits.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?
The opening scene popped into my head one day. (See #2 above). And I soooo want to direct this movie.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
It’s a fun, fast read. My work is about: being entertained; being diverted. I don’t want to write downers. I want to write things that bring a smile to the reader’s lips. I want for people to escape their everyday lives for awhile, and forget the outside world. I’m tired of the business of selling fear. I’m tired of depressing downers. Let’s promote joy for a change.

_Famous…or Not_, is very close to being released. Stay tuned…

I write romance under the pen name, Dayne Gearner
I write chic lit under the pen name, LeAnn Coston
My first mystery was released in 2012, _Forever 11:59_, under my own name, Amanda Ball.

For more info about me,
amandaball.com
livingforcreativity.wordpress.com

Have a blessed day!
**

The next author who has been invited to the blog hop is television writer/producer, author,  foodie:

Joseph Mallozzi

He writes a daily blog, full of fabulous details about everything. He is a devoted doggie-dad. He worked as a writer and producer in the Stargate television franchise.

Mr. Mallozzi and his co-writer are authors of the comic book series, Dark Matter.

Check out his work. It’s fabulous!

About Dark Matter:

Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie, writers on Stargate, from SG1 through to SGU, bring their latest science fiction epic to comics in Dark Matter. The six-person crew of a derelict spaceship awakens from stasis in the farthest reaches of space. Their memories wiped clean, they have no recollection of who they are or how they go on board. The only clue to their identities is a cargo bay full of weaponry and a destination-a remote mining colony that is about to become a war zone! With no idea whose side they are on, they face a deadly decision. Will these amnesiacs turn their backs on history, or will their pasts catch up with them?

  1. January 17, 2013: Stargate Q&A! Blog Hop! Introducing Fernando! « Josephmallozzi’s Weblog
  2. January 23, 2012: Blog Hopping Dark Matter! « Josephmallozzi’s Weblog
  3. Famous…or not « livingforcreativity

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

