You know you’ve got my heart, babe, but the music’s got my soul…

“You know you’ve got my heart, babe, but the music’s got my soul…”

That’s a line from the song, “Feed Jake” written by songwriter  Danny “Bear” Mayo  and performed by the band Pirates of the Mississippi.

That line speaks to the truest level, of what music means to me. I am, first and foremost, born to make music. I love all creativity. I love my books and writing; my filmmaking and acting. But music is it for me.

I had an amazing experience today. I have had in works for a few weeks to try a new recording studio, and our first session was postponed, which was no problem. But I had a session scheduled for today. It’s been a tough week, and I won’t get into all that, but there are times when all you can do is survive–anything beyond that takes too much energy.

When you’ve had health problems, a common result is to compute things in terms of how much energy they will take. Nothing about living a creative life is easy. Sane people would not choose this life. But I can’t live any other way.

But then there are days like today. I was so far “off” I might as well have been on another continent. And I had a recording session set up. This was a new studio and audio engineer that I had not met, nor worked with before.

Sometimes in music…a synergy happens. Music becomes more than the sum of its parts. Thanks to a very talented and kind audio engineer, we built an amazing track of music today.

I am not competent at audio production and technology. Goodness knows I’ve tried to conquer it, but it’s just not my bailiwick. I’ll still work to learn and understand audio engineering. But, for this studio booking today, to go so well, it warms the heart.

So for today…something went right.  We made music. We made good music. In terms of how I measure my life….that’s it.

That’s everything.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

