Close ups

Am working to learn my camera better. I am frustrated with its limitations, but am happy with what all it can do. So, this week, I’ve worked to learn the “close up” feature, which on my camera is called “macro”. There are many, many variables involved. And I’m learning to read a histogram. Woo- hoo!

Honeysuckle

Red flower

Dandelion

So, at least my knowledge of the creative world is progressing in some way. I called a photographer friend to give me an evaluation and I asked if I was on the right track (ie: am I wasting my time here?). She said no- I wasn’t wasting my time. And thank you to the many wonderful reader comments I’ve had regarding photography. It’s something I really, really want to pursue. (Along with everything else. Gee–not enough hours the day).

Part of the problem is that I don’t have that many vistas to shoot here. I live in a very rural area, and a lot of the countryside looks the same. Fields and sky and power lines and fences. There isn’t that much variety. I could spend hours taking pics of sunsets, but to have a horizon of power lines and oil derricks and things rather ruins the shot. So, I’m limited by the geography of the land. I want to go to Colorado and take mountain pictures, and go to Maine and take sea-scapes. Oh well, you do what you can do. And my knowledge of the camera is growing, so that’s something. In all art, any bit of knowledge is worthwhile.

I don’t have a sense of confidence about photography yet. In other art, when I’ve been around the block a few times, there comes a sense of…arrogance, perhaps. In all art, there needs to be a sense of arrogance to say, “Yes, my work deserves to exist. My work has value.”

I have achieved that place in my music and musicianship. I am there in writing (if they don’t like it–phooey on them! LOL). Filmmaking I’m still learning the technical stuff. Acting–I am SOOOO there already. Painting I do not have enough knowledge in to be confident about at all. So, photograhy is like that, too.

I used to apologize for playing my cheap guitar. Finally, one guitar man told me: if it sounds like a good guitar–it is a good guitar. (In other words, it doesn’t matter what I paid for it. What matters is how I play it, and what I think of my work.) After that, I quit apologizing about my guitar. And a whole lot of other things.

We went to a lighting seminar for filmmaking one time. They lit and built a scene with very expensive equipment. Then they built the same scene with everyday equipment. I’m talking work lights like I have in my garage, tin foil, cardboard, etc. The lesson learned there is: use whatever you need to get the job done, and do not apologize for anything.

Art is sooo subjective. There is no right or wrong. Each piece of art, no matter what form, exists. It is valid. The most important thing is: do I like it? If I say it has merit, then it has merit. If anyone else, even one single person likes it too, that’s just gravy.

That’s not to say I don’t want feedback and want to learn and improve and get better. But, for photography, I’m still at the level of, “Is this good? Does this have a right to exist? Does it stand on its own?”

The rest of my creativity is dormant at the moment. I can’t create from nothing. I have the desire to create, but there are times when your life force, or life energy is diverted elsewhere. This is one of those times. I used to agonize about not accomplishing more (who are we kidding? I always agonize about not accomplishing more. It’s the refrain that people hear from me over and over.) But, when life throws you a curve ball, you just handle it, dodge it, bat it, and keep going. So, when I can function in creativity again, then I will. I always have so much more stuff in my head to do, than my body can actually do. So, in the meantime, I’m watching my tv shows, doing everyday things, and just putting one foot in front of the other. When the wellspring of creativity fills up again, I’ll be ready for it.

Have a lovely week.

Peace, baby!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Ed on May 28, 2012 - 7:04 am

    Great shots, I live for macro shots, any Q’s just ask and if I can I’ll answer them..:-)

Leave a Reply

