Movies! Videos! Audition! and Unbelievable Pics of a Pink Sky

Unbelievable pink sky

Liquid pink sky

Mama

So, I needed a current photo to submit to an audition…more on that in a minute. Since I needed me in the shot, and I didn’t have a photographer, I set up my video camera, on the still picture setting and used the remote.
I was in a rush to get the audition photo sent in before I went to work. I downloaded the still  pictures from the video camera.

And what do I find but the unbelievable pink sky pics. Those are actual photos of an actual sky. No color correction, no post, no editing, no photoshop. It was one of those “right place at the right time” moments. Those sky pics were taken August 10, 2011. Don and I were  out scouting a location for a movie shoot, and as we were talking and walking around, that sky sunset happened. I had grabbed the camera on the way out the door to set up test video shots of the location. Thank goodness I had it with me.

The bird photo was also taken last year. The mama bird had a nest in my tree in my front yard. I can’t believe she let me get close enough to take pics.

Anyway, back to the original story. There are many motion pictures in production right now. If there is an appropriate role for me, I do try to submit for most of them. There is one movie in particular I really want to get. I have already submitted myself for it as an actor (cross your fingers and hope for the best–but the truth is, I do get in most of these movies, so the grace of the universe has been in my corner in the past. Fingers crossed on this next gig!). But, I’ve had three emails where they are looking for automobiles from the mid-80s to the mid-90s. I thought about submitting, but….dadgummit….I want me to be in the movie; my car…not so much.

I talked about it with Don last week, still not too enthused. There was a ‘car’ casting call email again today. And I rushed around and took the appropriate photo and submitted. Hey, let’s just say my car gets the role. At least I am a _part_ of the production. If you can get your foot in the door, in any way possible, that’s good. On at least one half of the productions I’ve worked, they ask me to come back. Now, in my mind, that says something. They like you enough to want you to come back? They think enough of your professionalism and acting ability and willingness to work with others, and they ask you to come back? So, I submitted my car for a role in the movie! This, without question, is my strangest audition yet. (And I’ve had some lulu’s—-believe you me!)

What floors me—we are car people. I grew up working on cars. I love cars. The sound of a V-8 motor really gets my motor humming (no pun intended). We’ve had some fabulous automobiles over the years. So, rather than get a really, really neat automobile to submit for the audition–I have to submit my everyday, boring, dark green, sedan. If only I could have submitted (or still had…) the ’57 Chevy; the ’27 Model T; the ’69 Nova…

I’m gonna get some ribbing if, of all the fun cars we’ve had over the years, my boring 15 year old dark green sedan gets all the attention.

There’s too much going on, in too short an amount of time. I have been working day job too hard. I needed to affirm I was worthy and creative and a real person. So, I went to the Celebration at Wakita, and took the video camera and filmed things. And I came home with three projects to edit. My hold up on video production is that I just haven’t taken the time to learn the new software. There is no way to learn it, but to dive in and do it. So, I started in on that Saturday night, after getting home from the parade and things. These are tiny video projects; learning tools, etc. I’ll post some when they are done. The new video production software is intimidating…and quite amazing. It does sooo much. I’ve worked with maybe 5 of those softwares so far. We are working at the top of the food chain in terms of technical quality. Now…all I need is experience.

On deck: Recording session this week. I am not prepared and not ready.

Then…on Saturday, I belted out a line from one of my songs. I already know what I’m going to do during that session…record that song. Who needs to rush to rehearse? I’ve been playing this song for years. It’s time to get it properly laid down. Then the world can hear it too.

Peace, baby.

  1. #1 by smithdavid on September 23, 2012 - 7:12 pm

    yip, nothing quite like a pink sky. nice one…

  2. #2 by Mary Strong-Spaid on September 29, 2012 - 12:27 pm

    Beautiful sunset!

  3. #3 by southernheart1 on October 15, 2012 - 2:52 am

    Those sky shots are breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

