2013

Snow

Snow

Snow on rooftop

Snow on rooftop

We begin 2013 with a bit of snow. Oklahoma is in such a drought, we welcome any moisture, no matter how insignificant. Last week, there was a forecast for snow/ice, which didn’t come to fruition, and someone on television said, “The layer of powdered sugar on my french toast is thicker than the layer of snow outside!”

It was a great line. Wish I had thought it up!

So, here we are, at 2013. What will the new year bring? I’m not one for resolutions. I figure that if something needs to be changed in life, I’ll change it at the time. You can’t predict where life will lead. You can’t know what issues you’ll have to deal with, and how those things will affect your time. 2012 did not go like I planned. There were a lot of outside factors that affected the creativity. There were a lot of creative slow-downs and shut-downs. If life continues to be that way, I’ll deal with it. But, I hope that 2013 has a fewer life issues and more of my time can be focused on creative endeavors.

One of the surprises of 2012 was photography. Photography was always one of those, “someday” things. Someday, when I have time, I’ll do this. [Someday I’ll restore a ’72 Camero; Someday I’ll devote time to birdwatching, etc.] When so much of my internal energy was taken up with life issues in 2012, I used what little I had leftover and worked photography. It wasn’t like writing, where you have to become the “writer” and focus the entirety of your brain on the task at hand. It wasn’t like making music, where you turn into “the musician”, and have to command every cell in your body to do your bidding and make music. Let’s not even talk about “performing” nor “moviemaking”.  Seems like every conversation I have related to creativity, seems to relate to energy management. Perhaps that’s due to health issues.  But, what little energy I could spare, during the first 2/3 of 2012, I worked photography, and it was so amazing. I love photography.

So, having this blog. It’s one thing to talk about creative endeavors. I can talk about the recording studio. I can talk about writing (hey–I wrote about 2600 words today!). I can talk about wiring diagrams in the recording process; I can talk about going to a movie set; I can talk about casting calls, etc. But, all of those things are “talk”.

With photography, that is an actual _thing_, to share. It’s active. I can post photos on the blog, and something about those photos connects with people. Then I want to know what other photographers are doing. What can I learn from looking? So, I search out for other photographers and their work.

That’s something unexpected that has really added to my life. I love wordpress. With the photography in common, I can look at blogs, and in effect, travel the world. I’ve learned so much about the world, and “seen” places I have never seen, nor can dream to go. I’ve learned about places I didn’t know existed. And I’ve made new friends, from all over the globe, who share in passions for creativity. That has been a blessing and a joy in life.

But, life is about looking forward, not back. Where can 2013 take us?

Someone made a quote to me a few months ago, “If you want to make God laugh, make a plan.” Well, that there is the doggone truth. I work and work and work and plan, but then life unfolds as it unfolds. To some degree, I think we hold our fate in our own hands. To some degree, I’m a fatalist–whatever is going to happen, is going to happen. I believe I was sent to this Earth to do this task: to make music, to communicate with people; to connect to people; to entertain. I was given tremendous gifts and talents and opportunities.

But, there is always that doubt. Am I crazy? Am I crazy to try to achieve success in these fields where success is virtually impossible? How do you define success anyway? You move forward with confidence, but then the doubt creeps in. Am I worthy? What makes me think I have anything to say?

So, you suffer through the bad times, and enjoy the good times, and try to live your life to the fullest.

Thanks for sharing the journey with me. I wish for you all, all success and happiness on your life’s journey.

So, 2013? Where does it lead?

For starters: I just finished the manuscript for _Famous…or not_. Whew! I didn’t know I was that close to being done. I’ve been working (slogging) my way through editing. I knew I had a missing scene to write, to tie everything together. This is winter time. (As evidenced by the snow pics above). My creativity slows down in the wintertime. I call it wintertime shut-down mode. I’m trying to maintain…something. There’s not a lot of creativity in the well to call on. But, if I can get enough writing done, then the technical end (proofreading, formating, publishing) doesn’t zap you as much. Last year at this time, I was editing and working _Forever 11:59_, and that took four months. I didn’t know what to expect with Famous. And yet, here we are?!? Finished manuscript? I wasn’t expecting that. And it’s snowing outside, and how in the world did I pull off that 8 page missing scene, today of all days?

Next up is the proofreading and formatting, but those are technical and rote, so I can pull that off.

What else is going on? Been working playwriting quite a bit. I’m sooo chomping at the bit to get back to the recording studio. There is so much work to be done. But, I have to wait till warmer weather. I just don’t have enough…umph…in me.

So, in closing…happy 2013.

I was going through notes, and found a quote by my dear friend, Richard Sutton, who passed away five years ago.

He said:

“Eat well. Sleep well. And if you’re lucky…love well.”

Well said, my friend.

, ,

  1. #1 by Paula on January 1, 2013 - 6:16 pm

    Sleep well Amanda 🙂

Leave a Reply

