ABC

I’ve been working and studying and trying to figure out what they called “fixed image” formatting. This is to start putting books with illustrations on the Kindle.

So, I figured out one “path” through this issue, but there are more methods, and I’ve just got to find them and figure them out. Nothing about this computer stuff is easy! And as soon as you figure something out–the technology changes.

Anyway, I built a “test” book. I didn’t want to have an artist create illustrations, and then me screw up and not be able to accomplish the task.

So, here it is! My first children’s book.

ABC cover

It’s available on Kindle for 99 cents. I’m still figuring out this process. I gather that it’s only available on Kindle Fire and machines later than that. Most of my work, I test on an application called Kindle for PC. Well, for some resason, this wasn’t compatible with that, so I had to use the Kindle Cloud.

As I said–tech! Whew!

But, the writing was super fun. The verses make me grin all over.

Page3

***

page6

***

page9All the writing is original. I love to do this. I could write children’s books all day long. And this whets my appetite to create art. I know that as soon as I try, I’ll get frustrated, and decide that it’s best to leave art to the real artists. But, anything that promotes creativity is a good thing.

AND…if anyone has any hints on how to further this process–(fixed image formatting), please let me know. I ended up using a template, and thank goodness for that. I couldn’t make any other softwares work, and all the forum suggestions and things are so far over my head. Thank you so much!

Have a lovely day!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Zombie Minstrel on March 23, 2013 - 7:52 pm

    Are you trying to do this within an HTML document or within a piece of software such as Photoshop?

    • #2 by livingforcreativity on March 23, 2013 - 7:56 pm

      I’ve tried a BUNCH of methods, so ???
      For this particular template, I built each page as a jpg, and the template creator had a .opf file that was compatible with the Kindle Previewer software. So, that worked, but I want to be able to do this without the template. So, since the Kindle platform has moved from .mobi to the KF8 format, I’m still trying to figure it out! LOL –as if audio software tech and video production tech aren’t enough???? Now–to take on this! Anyway, thanks a lot!

  2. #3 by Zombie Minstrel on March 23, 2013 - 8:15 pm

    KF8 is based on two languages, HTML5 and CSS. I would recommend DreamWeaver to format you books images and text. It’s a vey easy piece of WYSIWYG software to use. If you have learning curve issues lynda.com will get you right up to speed.

    • #4 by livingforcreativity on March 23, 2013 - 8:19 pm

      This is great info! Thanks!!! Thanks more than you know. I have not tried DreamWeaver. I had worked in Sigil and Scribus (with very limited trials), so I’m flying in the dark here. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction! The (future) artists and I thank you!

      So…what are you working on these days? Are you making lots of great music???

  3. #5 by Zombie Minstrel on March 25, 2013 - 4:45 am

    You are most welcome Amanda, let me know if I can be of any further aid and assistance. Currently I’m in the studio recording my son, it’s great fun and lovely dad family time.

Leave a Reply

