Route 66

Some photos from my recent trip to Amarillo.

I love nostalgia. I love classic cars and the open road (and photography).

Thought you might enjoy a few snapshots of the trip. Someday I want to drive all of Route 66, but…even driving just a small segment is fun.

SANY1536 med ir

Make you want to sing the song, doesn’t it?

So, for my little portion of the trip, we start at Clinton, OK at the Route 66 Museum.

SANY1519 med ir

SANY1521 med ir

SANY1541 med ir

SANY1544 med ir

Then you proceed west to the Texas state line: (where you should Boogie Back to Texas!)

SANY1558 med ir med ir

For years, I’ve heard about the art deco gas station at Shamrock, TX. I made up my mind not to miss it this time. I exited the interstate at Shamrock, intent on finding it. Turns out, it’s right off the interstate. What architecture!

The U-Drop Inn.

SANY1546 med ir

SANY1547 med ir

SANY1550 med ir

Nostalgia….ah do you remember these? (wavery lines appear as we go into the dream sequence and a song starts playing…)

SANY1559 med ir

Our destination on this trip: The Big Texan!

In Amarillo…by Morning’…or maybe 3:00 which is when I got there.

SANY1562 med ir

SANY1565 med ir

SANY1584 med ir

SANY1580 med ir

Now one more thing, before we head back home to:

SANY1532 med ir

…and it’s very important:

SANY1585 med ir

Being a pi-an-ee player my-own-self…this kinda needs to be my mantra in life, doncha think?

Toodles!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Suzanne on April 21, 2013 - 6:30 am

    Wow. What a great trip

  2. #2 by earthstills on April 22, 2013 - 5:51 am

    I share your dream from a continent away!

  3. #4 by becky6259 on April 28, 2013 - 4:52 am

    THOSE are a few of the parts of TX I would love to have experienced while I lived in TX — but, maybe someday, lol! Looks like you had a great trip!

  4. #5 by frontrangescribbles on May 2, 2013 - 1:34 pm

    Great photos

  5. #6 by LaVagabonde on May 9, 2013 - 4:53 pm

    Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

