Movie acting

I just got hired for a movie acting gig this week.

I am floored and flabbergasted (and yes thrilled), but just amazed that these gigs keep coming along.

It’s as an extra (on a production I really wanted), and they have already said, “closed set”, so I’m sure I can’t list any details (which is fine–I’m happy to respect any wishes the producers make). And there are at least 4 productions going right now, if not 6. It’s been quite an active week with emails from various producers and casting directors, so just the fact that I’m talking about a movie does not mean anyone can automatically figure out which one it is.

But, I’m just floored that the universe keeps giving these acting gigs to me. I enjoy them, but acting is sooo far down on my list of priorities.

I describe myself as a: musician/author/filmmaker

Acting comes in 6th or 7th or 8th down the list, and honestly I never expect anything to come of it. I enjoy being in front of the camera. I LOVE performing (but most of my performing work is in the music realm).

I have recently met another actor/musician and said to him what I just said…about ‘I don’t really expect acting to amount to much of anything’, and he said, “You never know what will happen!”

He’s right.

I don’t limit myself. In fact, the sky’s the limit. Why place that limitation on yourself before you even start?

It amazes me when someone gathers their courage and tells me what their far-off wish is. Let’s say it’s “play the guitar”. And I say, “Let’s get a guitar and I’ll show you a few things.”

And without exception, the person’s answer will be negative. “I can’t do that.”

Me: “Why not?”

And they are afraid to try.

So, I really admire people who “put it out there”. Try or succeed. Pass or fail. I think the best part of life in this universe is the experience. And if you happen to fail (my first acting audition was an epic fail–totally cringe-worthy)…you learn from it and move on. (My second acting audition–I nailed it.)

So…right or wrong…here I am: going for it!

  1. #1 by Zina_G on April 25, 2013 - 1:07 pm

    Good! Congratulations! I agree that you do need to make it happen, for you. Being open to all possibilities in life is paramount on ensuring that you live the life you want.

  2. #2 by frontrangescribbles on May 2, 2013 - 1:32 pm

    Congrats. I agree the best part of life is the experience.

Leave a Reply

