Photography – macro shots with raindrops

SANY2373 med ir

I’m working on learning macro photography a little better. With a point and shoot camera (Oh…how I long for a DSLR), the settings are challenging. But as they say…practice makes perfect.

Anyway, these types of shots are getting better, no?

SANY2374 med ir

SANY2377 med ir

I have 8 baby tomatoes in my garden. I loved the way this macro shot came out…with the different levels of focus and perspective. Various leaves that are close and up front are blurred, but the focus of the area is exactly where I hoped it would be. Miracles do happen! LOL Actually…how many times have I tried to do a macro shot–with a point and shoot–and the focus area is anywhere but where I want it to be! So…when it happens, it’s still a revelation.

But still…you can see the spiny parts of the stem; you can see the raindrops on the tomatoes; the shiny reflection on the leaf on the right, yet the top leaves are a soft blur. The ground is a soft out-of-focus. What fun to be able to finally make this kind of shot work!

SANY2382 cr med ir

Apologies..I know I’ve posted a lot of rose pictures this spring…but I love them. And we waited through a long dark winter, and now…now we have flowers to photograph! So, I photograph them.

, , ,

  1. #1 by ladyofthecakes on June 7, 2013 - 11:27 am

    I also only have a small digital cam, and the shots don’t turn out too badly. I keep practicing with different settings to see what it can do. With very mixed results, lol. Aw, it’s all good clean fun šŸ™‚

  2. #2 by Iamrcc on July 4, 2013 - 12:18 pm

    I think your shots came out very well using your point and shoot. I carry one with all the time in case I run up on something, but I do the majority of my macro shots with my DSLR. Thanks for visiting and the like of my post “Boy, It’s Crowded”.

  3. #3 by boblongwordsguy on July 7, 2013 - 4:34 pm

    These photos are beautiful. I’m just learning how to use the macro on my digital camera. It’s amazing what’s going on underneath our noses, if we only take the time to look for it!

  4. #4 by photographer on December 12, 2013 - 10:16 pm

    I really like your pictures! Being a professional photographer I know it could be difficult
    to choose the right shots but they are excellent.

    I prefer some Lightroom presets to help keep some uniformity with my own.

Leave a Reply

