Take me when you leave

Take me when you leave…the ultimate song of heartbreak.

If you’ve been in love, and you’ve been the one who has been left behind, then you know what this song means.

I’m kinda working at polar ends of the spectrum. Also in the same time frame, I’m working on the ultimate love song, called “Destiny.” My intro to it is: If you’ve ever been in love, then you know what this song means.

But for now we have: “Take me when you leave.”

Yes, it’s about pain. It’s about heartbreak. But, when you feel that…when you’re there, maybe this song will help, just to let someone know that he or she isn’t alone.

I’ve been sitting on this song for years. Most of my hold up has been, not having good enough recorded master tracks to release to the public. Now, thankfully, with the help of a talented engineer (he’s sooo much more than an engineer–musician, producer, arranger, friend, benefactor and general all-around help-make-my-dreams-come-true guy), we are now building a collection of recorded music. Good, viable, recorded music.

You have all these dreams that you acquire along the way. The biggest dream is…you want to “make it”. That’s always dream #1, and at the top of my priority list. It’s why I get out of bed every day, even on the bad days. How far along am I going down this path? Am I making the right choices?

But, there are other dreams that crop up. I try not to focus on having a specific artist/singer/actor do a specific job, because…in reality…what are the chances? But, my dream, for years, is to have Vince Gill sing this song.

I came into singing late. Oh, I have sung my whole life, but I didn’t get adequate until I was 28. Now, I’m on the back side of 40, and I’ve really come into my own as a singer.

The voice is richer. The control is better. But…what I really mean is, the emotional content is there. If you’ve lived it, you can sing it; you can ‘sell’ it.

So, for a market that values youth and skinniness above all else….????

What would it be to live in a culture that revered life experience?

Anyway…back to creativity:

Recording the song has been a bitch. I have worked and worked and worked on it, and fought the technology, like you would not believe.

I like to record my keyboard audio. But, on this track, due to the excessive control it takes, we recorded it MIDI. And I have fought it and messed with it, and worked with it, like you would not believe. And the engineer, bless him, changed as many settings as he could, trying to make me happy with the sound. So, bottom line: We really, really worked for this track.

For the video, I’m still not up to having enough energy to coordinate live action videos. I want to. I will get there. I’ve been talking to a lead actress about a role for a video, which (hopefully) we’ll shoot soon. But, with everything else that’s going on right now (day job, and life issues), and trying to do all my creative endeavors (working on a novella, and got 15 pages done this week; photo shoot; pitched a screenplay to my writing partner, who jumped on the idea and has already contributed good thoughts; planning and arranging future recording sessions; arranging;, etc), it’s a lot to deal with, no matter how you slice it.

So, on this video, I want something that conveys the meaning of the song. The song is about when someone leaves you, and all you want is to be with them. Hence, “Take me when you leave”

So, yes, I’d like to have fancier videos. But, to coordinate a video with me singing on the video -MOS, and dubbing in the song audio to the video, and trying to “act” and make the timing work, not to mention all the other aspects of video production: lighting, composition, etc. It’s a heck of a lot of hard work. Very hard to direct yourself, no matter what the circumstances. If I was going to do that, it’d take how many more weeks?

So, I put up a still pic (for now–just with the purpose of getting the music out to the world, after so many years of it sitting in a drawer–waiting for its turn to shine) on these videos.

I need a wedding ring. I want to convey a pic of an empty wedding ring, and that it symbolizes the loss of hope. But, I don’t have a wedding ring.

I have a fake one, but I haven’t seen it in awhile. So, I go dig thru the jewelry boxes.

What do I find, but my grandfather’s wedding ring? I didn’t remember that I had it. But, it’s so sad, because it actually represents a love that was lost. My grandmother died of cancer, and my grandfather never got over it.

So, that ring is an actual symbol of what this song is about. It’s about getting left behind, no matter what the circumstances.

So, I set up a photo shoot last night and shot the still pic. (This after a long week at the day job, when I finally have an evening off, and I decided to NOT WORK, and just veg in front of the TV. Yeah, that lasted less than 2 hours, and I was working again.)

IMG_0349

I think I’ve fought the technical issues of this song (and listened to it so many times, trying to get it right), I seem to have lost the ability to “feel” the emotional content.

Using that pic of the ring brings it all back. It’s a sad song. Sad at the caliber of “He Stopped Loving Her Today” or “Old Violin”.

So…this blog is about creativity and the whole journey of “making it”. I try not to discuss a lot of life issues on the blog. That doesn’t fit the theme, but there are times when dealing with life issues really affect your time and affect your creativity. This week…the last two weeks! Whew! My washing machine went out, and that took a lot more work/time than you’d think. But, I need my pickup running (and safe) in order to haul washing machines around. So, I’ve been working on the pickup a lot. This week, Tuesday  morning, I was out working on the truck, and got hit by a wasp on the back of my right hand. And I have this recording session scheduled for Wednesday?

My hand started swelling. Awake at 3am, that morning, and I knew I was in trouble. I’ve never had a reaction like that before.

Swollen hand vs. recording studio.

Not a good combination. I had some music lines prerecorded at home, but still, if you’re a musician, you need your hand, right?

This is Friday morning, and it’s some better, but whew! I’m ready for that to get back to normal.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jackie on July 12, 2013 - 10:00 pm

    Sounds painful! I hope it heals quickly for you.

    • #2 by livingforcreativity on July 12, 2013 - 11:19 pm

      Bless you! Yes, the hand is somewhat better by now. But it’s the weirdest thing to rub the back of it, and you can’t feel any bones. Can’t make a fist, etc.

      Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

