Watching You, Watching Her

Sunlight...and Flight - Acrylic

Watching You, Watching Her – Youtube Link.

This is a sad country waltz. Written by Amanda L. Ball and Karen Ball.

The art work is used with permission by artist Karen Ball.

***

I’m working to get enough *finished* masters to move onto the next step of music promotion. Ultimately, my goal has been to have other artist record my songs. I am content being behind the scenes, as songwriter, publisher, etc. But, once recorded audio started working out (it blows my mind that after so many years of trying this is now working), then maybe….maybe…I think that I can perform my songs well. I can emote them. I can convey their meaning. I wrote the song. I can *sell* the song-and by that I mean the performance of the song.

So, what is the next step? How do you get played on independent radio (probably internet radio. Terrestrial radio is so corporate controlled you’ll never break in there.) How do you get played on Pandora? How do you list items on Itunes and Amazon? So…those are steps I’ll be tackling next. It’s just like everything else: book writing, playwrighting; acting; etc….figure out the steps; try one thing and try another; make course adjustments. I want to explore licensing these songs to advertising/TV/movies. It all can be done, but like everything else…it takes time.

So, if anyone has navigated these waters, please share your stories.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by hannah meiklejohn on August 8, 2013 - 1:28 pm

    Rather than national radio how about a local station? Seems easier to get into and I do know of a few unsigned bands in my area who played sets on the local radio station. As far as I know they just contacted the station to get the ball rolling. They put up the station’s weblink on all their social media pages so people could tune in at the set time they were due to be aired. I know it’s not a big help but maybe it’s a start? Good luck to you anyway 🙂

    • #2 by livingforcreativity on August 8, 2013 - 1:36 pm

      That’s a great idea, but I think a lot of it depends on your local area and media. Right now, there are no local, independently owned, stations near me. It’s all so corporate owned, and I even dated a DJ for awhile, so I do know how virtually impossible terrestrial radio is. But thanks for the suggestion and for the encouragement. I know there are ways to do this, but I’ve got to figure them out. Thank goodness for the internet. It’s a great way to reach people. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

