Sunsets

SANY3062 med ir

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

SANY3060 med ir

SANY3024 med ir

SANY3059 med ir

i haven’t been quite as active with photography as I have in the past, but I’ve been busy with this music video pre-production and with playwrighting.

When you live in the middle of nowhere, you have to drive to get to anything. If you need shoes, medicine, DVDs,…whatever….you have to drive to get to where it is. It’s a way of life for rural America. So, if there’s some acting job you want to do, you have to drive.

So, for us to produce this music video…in the middle of nowhere, it’s virtually impossible to get actors, from the city, to come here. So, you ask local people. Then you think, “I know so-and-so is outgoing, maybe they’ll come be in the crowd scene for the music video.” And you start asking people. And most of them panic and say NO. There are a few who say yes, but then actually don’t show up on the day. (Some actually do say yes, and actually do show up). So, I’ve got Plan A for the video we want to do; then Plan B, if people don’t show up, and Plan C if people really don’t show up. We’ll get the project done-one way or another.

But…the lesson I have learned is…don’t EVER plan to video a crowd scene while you live in rural America.  Not having personnel is challenging. It takes the volunteer efforts of people to bring our videos to fruition. And when you don’t have enough people??

But…the thing that surprises me throughout all of this is: how few people are comfortable “performing”. I was born a performer. I am comfortable in front of an audience. And there are tons of acquaintances, who are outgoing or funny or delightful, but they don’t feel comfortable in front of a camera. I have been trying to figure out how many are. If I say 1 in 100, it doesn’t feel like an accurate assessment. Probably 1 in 150.

I’ve been wanting to shoot this video for months, and I’m glad it’s happening. I am grateful for the actors who will be a part of it. But…it’s been taking up so much space in my head. In a way, I wish it was over with, and I could be working on something else.

Peace.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

