Signs of spring

SANY3568 med ir

SANY3545 med ir

SANY3553 med ir

SANY3550 med ir

SANY3551 med ir

***

Springtime arrives. With that…I’m hoping my “winter time shut down mode” will go away. Again. The music is completely dormant. The acting and performing are hiding. When it gets warm, my creativity wakes up.

What’s been unusual about this year is…the writing never went completely away. It stayed going during my whole “shut down” time. So…that’s good, right?

The major front-burner project I’ve been working on (with a co-writer) is a screenplay. It’s an intelligent comedy; a fish-out-of-water story. It was juuuust about done, but I did a read-thru last weekend to see ‘where it’s at’.

It ain’t there!

I missed the target. It doesn’t work. The screenplay isn’t adequate. It isn’t what we needed it to be.

I have absolutely no idea how to fix it; nor how to get around this problem. It’s time to put this one back in the drawer and work on something else. It’s been front burner for..what…6 months, at least?

In a way, it’s what I wanted it to be. It’s what I set out to write. It’s like I drew a small box on a piece of paper, and everything inside that screenplay is inside that box. I need to ‘color outside the lines’, but I could never make myself take the screenplay that direction. The manuscript needs more depth. It needs…more.

So…what happens when you set out to create a project and the project you create turns out to NOT be what you needed? And in a way…it was what I set out to create. It was what was in my head…but the finished product doesn’t cut it.

I need to put it away and let to gel and maybe I’ll get some idea. But, it’s a failure, and I keep trying to tell myself, “You don’t hit a home run every time you’re at bat!”

There are other projects in works, in various stages of completion. I’ll pick one of those up and run with it for awhile. (Hopefully, and I have my fingers crossed…maybe the next project will be easier.)

So…to the writers out there. What do you do in this situation? How do you fix it? How do you deal?

***

The photos above are from the nearby arboretum. My daffodils at home are almost open. Probably 2 more days, so I didn’t know if anything would be in bloom at the botanical gardens. I went to see a play last night, “Boeing, Boeing.” This has been on my “want to do” list for months. The movie is one of my favorites, and the play was a delight. A true comedy. What surprised me was that they staged it ‘in the round’. I could not imagine how that would play, given the nature of the comings and goings in that play. But it worked. In a way, it drew the audience in, because the play was right there in front of you!

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

