Words I can not spell – 2014 edition

Words I can’t spell:

distain
surveilence
surburban
observent
alieviate
amaratto
refering
infectuous
harass
chivalery
sargeant
warrent
transfered
perpherial
acquiese
albiet
lambast
retreived
accidently
glamourous
resistence
agression
curiousity
calvary when I meant cavalry
watchfullness
committ
camraderie
inuendo
collegue
warmpth
rasberry

Really. I can’t spell these. They should never let me loose with a pen. Or a keyboard.

I will go over this list and learn how to spell these words. Maybe they won’t be on next year’s list. I will type and write them correctly and train my brain.

You know, I was a freshman in college, before I learned that when teachers made you write a wrong word 50 times, it was for this purpose. Up till then, I just thought they were being mean!

Words the spellcheck can’t spell:

surveilling
surveil
snuck
gunbelt
safehouse
doozy
mundanity

[Actually, when I was making the list, I typed:

words the spellcheck doesn’t nkow

___________

Eek!

I’m gonna go hide my head under the covers!

I just prevailed (read: begged) on my closest writing friend to explain (yet again) past and passed. That’s the one I always get confused on, and by now, I’m so  intimidated to use them in a book!!!

*******

Anyway, this book _Suspicions_, it’s all I’ve done for the last couple of weeks. I am so far *away* from my normal process, I’m not quite sure what’s happening next. Usually manuscripts don’t pour out of me in such a short period of time. Usually they require some work when they’re done.

On this one….and I hesitate to speak too soon. But it came out, and it was…(dare I say) complete. It doesn’t have gaps to fill, problems to work out, pacing issues. It’s just there. It flows. It’s enjoyable. It tells a story.

AND…(pulling a book out of a human takes such a huge toll, on the mind, body, spirit, soul), you need to give yourself time in the aftermath, to recover.

So, what happened? I’m in this writing jag, and it’s some form of miracle, and Tuesday, I started the sequel, and wrote 17 pages. As of 9 am that morning, I had not planned for the sequel; I didn’t know anything about it. By about 10, I thought up the setting. After lunch, I started writing. And it was there. Just like the last one was. That mindset was there, that enabled the miracle of writing in one big fast tumbling flow of words.

 

I’ve already done two passes on _Suspicions_, fixing grammar, typos, continuity, but… (as of right now) it’s not gonna take a major reworking. I’m in such new territory here.

I’ve had songs come out of me, and all I did was hold the pen. Something else, some other force in the universe “gave” the song to me, and I was the recipient. I’ve spent two days thinking about the miracle of that. If it can happen with a song, then why not a book? Because that’s what last week was like. A miracle. A  gift.

Who knows? I may get away from this and get some perspective, and change my mind about re-writing. That’s the thing about living the creative life: you don’t know what’s going to be the thing to “go”. You do all this work, and you put it out into the world. What will “touch” people? What won’t? As the creator of said work, you just don’t know ahead of time.

It’s all a roll of the dice.

  1. #1 by amandahoedt on November 22, 2014 - 1:24 am

    So funny. I spelled committ just a minute ago…

Leave a Reply

