P. The Musical

So, this week, I had another one of those “miracle” writing sessions. I have had a musical in mind for about a year now. I had made some notes on it, but then put it away. And it bubbles around in my head, until it’s done “cooking” and it’s ready to come out.

I never know when these things are going to happen. But when they are done, then they are done. So, this week…guess what? I started writing a full length, whole size, intended-for-Broadway, musical.

We’ve written two musicals before. One is on the short side of full-length, with 4 songs. One was a ten minute play, with one dialog song and one dance.

So, this time, I’m flying solo, and writing it by myself, and it’s planned for 15 songs. (I added one, which brings the total to 16). And you have to write to the story. You can’t just write a random song, and stick it in this play. It’s got to fit. It’s got to advance the story. It’s got to be one piece of a puzzle–yet not so far out there, that the people hear a song and go, “What? WHY?”

This was yet another “miracle” writing session, in which, the story flowed. Words poured out me. They don’t happen very often, but when they do–you just gotta go with it. When you’re done writing for the day-you collapse. You can’t stand up straight. Literally. Some of these days, I have poured so much life force energy, into the writing and the story, that I may have to lie in bed, in some semi-state of unconscious, for hours afterward.

So, I estimate that 80% of this project is done. Just this week. Of the 16 songs, I have 12 completed. 2 were from my catalog, already written, that I could incorporate in. (On one, I had to add a bridge today, to fit the story.) But ten are new, and styled to the doctrine of the musical.

It’s one more “project” (almost) ready to go. I’m building up this arsenal of creative projects: ready to go out and slay the world.

  1. #1 by Human on February 17, 2015 - 4:43 am

    wow this sounds intense, only recently have I began getting songs in my head and streaming stories, a couple of songs I caught on piano, but I’m not used to thinking in this way

    it sounds interesting, tiring, yet super passionate and fulfilling

    Glad to have stumbled across your blog and look forward to reading more, hopefully ‘hearing’ something too 🙂

    • #2 by livingforcreativity on February 17, 2015 - 9:56 am

      Intense is the word for it, all right. Yesterday afternoon, I started going through the songs, trying to learn them all (memorize) and work them up. It just takes awhile.

      Best wishes on your projects, especially your new songs. Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

