Photography experiments

I’ve had this camera for a few months now. It’s a point and shoot. I put in batteries, and it went to a setting I had not recognized before. Auto SR.

Huh?

I have seen Auto before, but SR? I checked. Auto scene recognition.

So, I experimented.

Wow. It chooses settings much better than I do. 🙂 (And faster too).

For years, I have wanted to take decent macro shots, but with these little point and shoot cameras, without having any control over the focus, I was lucky if I ever got a decent macro shot.

DSCF0334 med ir   I got a lot of these over the years.

When today…I got:

DSCF0335 med ir

So…hmmm…let’s walk around:

DSCF0344 med ir

DSCF0333 med ir

Amazing! And I let the camera do the work.

The rains just went through.

DSCF0341 med irIt looks like I shot this in black and white, or color corrected to b/w in post. Nope. All in camera.

DSCF0378 med ir

How did that happen? All the wood is wet. Except for the teardrop shape? Odd…

My fav:

DSCF0375 med ir

Fascinating abstract of photography.

And on this AutoSR, the focus was where I wanted it to be???. The center of the knothole was blurred, and the wood grain was in focus.

Photography is a lot like the guitar. No matter how much you know, there are still infinite things to learn. You will never master either.

As for other creativity–I had to back off. I completed 8 projects in 8 months. Every facet of creativity: energy, creative wellspring, chi – was totally run down. I spent the last few weeks just letting myself rest. And it has worked. I have a modicum of strength in reserve.

How are things in your world?

  1. #1 by A Pondering Mind on August 19, 2015 - 7:22 pm

    Hello Amanda, Things are going quite well, despite the hot and humid weather.

    Love the photos.

    • #2 by livingforcreativity on August 19, 2015 - 7:28 pm

      Nice to hear from you! Glad you are doing well. We got a cool front, so it’s actually nice outdoors here today.

Leave a Reply

